Unexpected orchids by the pool

I don’t believe in signs as much as I used to, but — let’s just say this has been a rough couple of months, and I’m happy for any hint from the universe that things could be getting better.

Enter these orchids.  I spotted them blooming in the back of a chaotic corner of my garden, behind a pear tree and an apple tree that have both seen better days.  Mind you, the plant from which these flowers came hasn’t bloomed in years.

I cut three fronds and photographed them next to my pool in a red vase.

The vase is now in our kitchen, where the blooms will cheer us through the rainy days ahead.

About John Mears

I teach English, take photographs, play guitar, write, do yoga, meditate, hike, play computer games, and love (and try to serve) humanity. If anything here touches you, let me know! Leave a comment! Subscribe! Enjoy! If you like the photos, you might like the greeting cards we will be selling soon!
This entry was posted in Photos, mostly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

