Hello, 2012!

According to some people’s reading of the Mayan calendar, and a popular disaster movie, the world might end in the coming year.  I have a few things to say about that.

First, to quote a song by REM:  “It’s the end of the world as we know it… and I feel fine.”

The world as we know it is always ending.  Change is the only constant in the physical universe.  Even inside granite, electrons are spinning faster than a movie star’s marital status.  Maybe, in some dimension, there is a realm of absolute existence that never changes; here on Earth, my friends, change is accelerating.

Take a small example:  computer programs like Windows.  Every few years it’s a new system.  I was railing about this to my daughter.  I said, “Angela, why the fuck do they have to keep changing everything?” 

She said, “Daddy, you just have to roll with it.”

She’s right.

My resolution for 2012:  Roll with it.

I close with a cartoon that I hope gives you courage to face the new year in a spirit of flexibility and hope.

About John Mears

I teach English, take photographs, play guitar, write, do yoga, meditate, hike, play computer games, and love (and try to serve) humanity. If anything here touches you, let me know! Leave a comment! Subscribe! Enjoy! If you like the photos, you might like the greeting cards we will be selling soon!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello, 2012!

  1. Angela says:

    Happy New Year! I’m rolling with it. Trying to, anyway.

    Missing ya.

  2. Happy New Year, John. The Mayan Calendar actually ended in October of 2011. I think all of the uprisings reflect this–A New Year, A New Life!! A true transformation!

    • John Mears says:

      Hi Kate, and thanks for that fact check. Since we’re already “off the charts” as far as the Mayans are concerned, well to me that says anything is possible! I find that exciting. And yes, so many uprisings, so many people reaching for freedom and self-determination! These days I’m proud to be a human. Most of the time.

Leave a Reply

