Walking Solo in Aliso Canyon, Part One: Wildflowers, green birds and a dead tree

On Sunday I ventured out with my newfound love — my Canon D60, which is giving me sharper, clearer photos with greater depth and truth of color.  These photos are all from Aliso Canyon.

The trail head.  Right behind that hill with the house on it, there are many miles of suburban sprawl that you can’t see because of the angle.

I had to work really hard to get that ladybug there, by coaxing it onto my finger and placing it next to the center of that flower.  But fear not.  No ladybugs were harmed in the making of this blog.

That’s a cool, spooky flower.  Anybody know what it is?  Maybe from another planet.  Actually looks like something out of AVATAR, doesn’t it?

I’ve seen these green birds around.  I love their color.  But in the next photo there are three little chicks playing in the mud.  There’s nothing like chicks playing in the mud.  Oops, that sounds wrong.  But aren’t we all playing in the mud, each of us in his or her own way?

Below is a wild rose among wild mustard.  Also a few purple sage buds without flower, and some dry prickly seeds of which I do not know the name.

The wierd dry wood that you will see below fascinates me.  This is a very old live oak tree that died when its roots were wrenched from a wet hillside near the trail.  It blocked a wide bike path, and as it shed its bark, it revealed these interesting patterns.  Anybody know what they are?  Worms?  Termites?  Sap vessels?

This last shot is one of my favorites, with two types of wildflowers whose names I do not know.

About John Mears

I teach English, take photographs, play guitar, write, do yoga, meditate, hike, play computer games, and love (and try to serve) humanity. If anything here touches you, let me know! Leave a comment! Subscribe! Enjoy! If you like the photos, you might like the greeting cards we will be selling soon!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walking Solo in Aliso Canyon, Part One: Wildflowers, green birds and a dead tree

  1. Mike Herr says:

    Love ’em all…the wood looks like water flowing! And the little green birds look yellow to me and look like goldfinches…but that’s without checking my bird-book. Hold on – I’ll go get that book…and yes – these are either American Goldfinches or Lesser Goldfinches, probably the latter.

  2. Maryam Oj says:

    Teacher, I like all your pictures.
    Maryam Moheet 🙂

Leave a Reply

